Book Reviews – ‘Severed Heads, Broken Hearts’ by Robyn Schneider

Bought as an easy to read book for a recent holiday, I had no prior perceptions of this book so I was able dive head-first into reading it with no expectations.

What Did I Think?

From the front cover and the blurb (urgh such a horrible word), it comes across as your typical YA novel. Popular high-school jock is injured and falls from grace, immediately finding an interest in the unpopular new girl. However, despite the cliches, I found the book really enjoyable. The plot was easy to follow yet still interesting to keep me reading on.

Where Were The Flaws? (if any)

There were no majoy flaws for me; it only comes in the form of the typical cliches that crop up from most Young Adult books. However, this was never enough to put me off from reading on. Without revealing anything about the ending, there is a section of the ending that very much annoyed me, but thats for something for other readers to discover.

Would I Recommend It?

Definitely! For those who are looking for something easy to read, whether its while travelling or after an intense book, this is the book for you. It is also perfect for lovers of Young Adult books with a coming-of-age narrative.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑